THE SPINNING MILL WILL BE CLOSED FOR ANNUAL INVENTORY FROM SATURDAY APRIL 27TH TO WEDNESDAY MAY 1ST INCLUDED. ORDERS RECEIVED AFTER FRIDAY 26TH AT 4 P.M. WILL BE SHIPPED ON THURSDAY MAY 2ND.

 

PLANT-BASED DYE KIT • COCHENILLE (cochineal carmine)

DIY Plant-based kit • 100% Arles Merino 250g untreated and ready-to-dye skein • Natural pigment & mordant

49,00


Characteristics

  • Composition : 100% merino
  • Recommended needles : 2,5 • 3
  • color chart : 1 single natural raw white color
  • Titration : 250g = 1.000m ±
  • Sweater Size 40 Woman : 2x250g skeins
  • Gauge 10cm x 10cm : 30 Stitches x 39 Rows
  • Conditioning : ~350g kit incl. : one 250g skein • 1 mordant pot • 1 pigment pot • 1 explanation note
  • Uses :
    1/2 season yarn • Winter yarn • Classical knitting • Knitting • Crochet • Weaving • Punch-needle • Tapestry • Canvas • Layette • Ecologic • Ethical • Treatment-free
  • Type of Knitting : Fingering • Sock
  • Metric Number : 3 • 12.000
  • Spinning Mode : Worsted
  • Product Code : KITN-BBNA-COCH
Add to my wishlist
Add to my wishlist
Compare

In stock

Description

Plant-based dyeing is a traditional technique, the basics of which were forgotten during the 20th century, and which many dyers and colorists are seeking to rediscover. Used since antiquity, widely developed in the Middle Ages, it makes it possible to give colors to textiles by using the tinctorial properties of pigments extracted from plants. This technique, which is delicate to master, makes it possible to create splendid and surprising shades. It goes particularly well with 100% natural wools.

Fonty offers a range of do-it-yourself vegetal dye kits from natural wools produced at the Filature, with pigments and simplified but very efficient, for which a result of high aesthetic quality is very easily accessible.

This kit contains
- a skein of 250g of yarn BB NAT, made of 100% merino wool, undyed, untreated. This quantity is sufficient to make a knitted work such as a large scarf, or a child's sweater. It is also small enough to be dyed in a single bath, with non-industrial means
- a 9g jar of COCHENILLE (cochineal carmine) extract, a plant pigment produced by the caterpillars of the same name
- a 9g pot of mordant, selected to accompany this pigment
- a very detailed explanatory note

The plant extracts, presented in the form of a granular powder soluble in warm water, allow a wide range of shades. To make a vegetal dye, you must use an essential “mordant” to open the fibers of the wool and fix the colors (except for indigo). Mordants are most generally metal salts.

Dyers usually make their natural dyes in 2 successive baths, one of "mordanting", the other of dyeing. The method and the products offered in this box are deliberately simplified; they are the fruit of the experience of the team of dyers at La Filature, who have imagined a less complex process, accessible to everyone, from beginners to seasoned amateurs, and which produces impressive results.

With the skein of wool that you have dyed yourself in vegetable dye, you will be able to knit a work in your colors ! When you have made your first dye, you can expand your know-how and develop your technique by taking inspiration from more elaborate methods.

Fonty also offers other vegetal dye kits based on CAMPÊCHE, CHÂTAIGNIER (chestnut tree), GARANCE (madder), MÛRIER (mulberry tree), RESEDA.

To receive the up-to-date range of colors of Do-It-Yourself Plant-based Dye Kits, you can order the KIT TEINTURE VÉGÉTALE COLOR CHARThere.

Comparator
[wpdreams_ajaxsearchlite]

KIT DE TEINTURE VÉGÉTALE COCHENILLE

Kit de teinture • Echeveau 100% Mérinos d’Arles non traité prêt-à-teindre • Pigment & mordant naturels

37,30

nouveauté

Caractéristiques

Ajouter à ma liste d'envies
Ajouter à ma liste d'envies
Comparer

En stock

Description

La teinture végétale est une technique traditionnelle dont les bases ont été oubliées au cours du XXeme siècle, et que beaucoup de coloristes cherchent à redécouvrir. Utilisée dès l'antiquité, largement développée au Moyen-âge, elle permet de donner des couleurs aux textiles en utilisant les propriétés tinctoriales des pigments extraits de plantes. Cette technique, délicate à maitriser, permet de créer de splendides et surprenantes teintes. Elle se marie particulièrement bien avec les laines 100% naturelles.

Fonty propose une gamme de kits de teintures végétales à faire soi-même à partir de laines naturelles produites à la Filature, avec des pigments et des procédés simplifiés mais très performants, pour lesquels un résultat de haute qualité esthétique est très facilement accessible.

Ce kit contient
- un écheveau de 250g de fil BB NAT, composé à 100% de laine mérinos, non teint, non traitée. Cette quantité est suffisante pour réaliser un ouvrage tricoté tel qu’une grande écharpe, ou un pull pour enfant. Elle est également suffisamment réduite pour pouvoir être teinte en un seul bain, avec des moyens non industriels
- un pot de 9g d'extrait de COCHENILLE, un pigment naturel produit par les chenilles du même nom
- un pot de 9g de mordant, sélectionné pour accompagner ce pigment
- une notice explicative très détaillée

Les extraits végétaux, présentés sous forme de poudre granuleuse soluble dans l’eau tiède permettent une large gamme de nuances. Pour réaliser une teinture végétale, il faut utiliser un « mordant » indispensable pour ouvrir les fibres de la laine et fixer les couleurs (sauf pour l’indigo). Les mordants sont le plus généralement des sels de métaux.

Habituellement les teinturiers réalisent leurs teintures naturelles en 2 bains successifs, l’un de « mordançage », l’autre de teinture. La méthode et les produits proposés dans ce coffret sont volontairement simplifiés ; ils sont le fruit de l’expérience de l’équipe de teinturiers de la Filature, qui ont imaginé un procédé moins complexe, accessible à tous, du débutant à l’amateur chevronné, et qui produit des résultats impressionnants.

Avec l’écheveau de laine que vous aurez teint vous-même en teinture végétale, vous pourrez tricoter un ouvrage à vos couleurs ! Lorsque vous aurez réalisé votre première teinture, vous pourrez à loisir étendre votre savoir-faire et développer votre technique en vous inspirant de méthodes plus élaborées.

Fonty propose également d'autres kits de teinture végétale à base de CHÂTAIGNIER, COCHENILLE, GARANCE, MÛRIER, RÉSÉDA.

Pour recevoir la gamme à jour des coloris de KITS DE TEINTURE VÉGÉTALE, vous pouvez commander le NUANCIER KITS DE TEINTURE VÉGÉTALE ici.

Comparateur
[wpdreams_ajaxsearchlite]