The Factory

A Living Heritage Company

Fonty, “La Filature de Rougnat” is one of the last wool spinning and dyeing factories still in operation in France.

The Label EPV (Living Heritage Company), awarded by the Minister of the Economy, distinguishes companies with knowledge of excellence, recognized as rare and precious.

Created in 1880 on the banks of the Cher, a few kilometers from its sources in the heart of the Combrailles in Creuse, a traditional land of breeding and textile industry, the Filature Fonty is one of the treasures of the local heritage.

Labeled Entreprise du Patrimoine Vivant (EPV, Living Heritage Company) in 2017, this more than 100-year-old factory perpetuates exceptional know-how, passed down from generation to generation.

It is made up of original processes, advanced skills, cumulative experience, gestures refined over the years, associated with a fleet of traditional machines that the team maintains, renovates and gradually completes and which testify to the historic place of the regional textile sector.

Filature Fonty is an active member of the association Lainamac, which aims to promote and develop the wool sector of the Massif Central.

Natural materials

Quality threads, made of noble materials, of natural origin

The basic material of Fonty yarns is natural fibre.

Fonty produces high-quality yarns from animal fleeces and plant fibers of natural origin: sheep (mainly the merino breed), Peruvian and Bolivian alpaca, Mongolian yak, Gobi desert camel, mohair goat, Angora rabbit from France, Indian silk, cashmere, linen from Normandy, Asian cotton, bamboo from Portugal…

The raw materials are carefully selected. The fleeces come from local or regional farms, but more generally from France, Europe, Central Asia, or wool-producing countries in the southern hemisphere. Like plant fibers, animal fleeces are chosen for their fineness, length and softness, but also taking into account their traceability and the environmental issues related to their production or transport.

These materials are transformed in Creuse, in the various spinning workshops, into carded or combed yarn, roving or ribbon, respecting the traditional methods of wool spinning.

The qualities of natural wool are numerous. The Association Lainamac, with other committed partners, has achieved this booklet which takes stock of this natural product.

The art of colors

From the eye to the dye

The Fonty team has maintained exceptional yarn dyeing know-how for decades.

Thanks to its efficient dyeing workshop, Filature Fonty is able to reproduce or create any color for its yarns: unbleached or the original colors of the fleeces, dyes with natural or synthetic pigments, matte or shiny tones, bright or past, united or mottled…

Over the years, dyers have built up a color library of several hundred thousand shades, noting the dosages of pigments, the mordants or modifiers used, the formulas and the associated processes. It’s endless work because each material reacts differently to the dye, the possibilities are endless.

It is also a high precision work, very demanding, because it is a question of obtaining for each bath the exact tone. This research work is always carried out with particular attention to respect for the environment.

Traditional processes

From fiber to yarn : a whole science

The Fonty spinning mill’s exceptional fleet of textile machines dates from the 1950s to the 1980s. It bears witness to the past and the exceptional industrial heritage of the region in the middle of the 20th century.

The raw fibers which constitute the raw material are washed, sorted, beaten, mixed, coated (greased), prepared, pre-combed.

Then they are carded on our two double assortment carding lines.

On leaving the card, they are spun, twisted, assembled, unwound and skeined.

The skeins of yarn are washed, degreased, dyed, softened, rinsed, dried and sprayed.

Finally, they are weighed and prepared in cones, skeins, spools or balls, then labelled, packaged in bags, and stored, before being sent to our customers.

Our Customers

A French traceable high-quality yarn

For more than 140 years, Fonty has been manufacturing quality wool yarns for its customers thanks to its know-how passed down from generation to generation.

Our activity is based on four complementary pillars:

    1. Yarns for the Fonty collection, timeless and classic, whose range and colors change slightly each year, to better meet the expectations of knitters around the world.
    2. Yarns spun and dyed “on demand” for our industrial knitwear customers, weavers, merchants or wool brands, with the characteristics that they submit to us (material, thickness, twist, elasticity, color, etc.. ).
    3. Specific yarns manufactured for tapestry, weaving, trimmings, embroidery and high-end rug artisans.
    4. Activity of wool transformation for breeders of their harvest of wool into dyed yarn so that they can sell it “on the farm”.

Our customers appreciate high-quality wools, associated with original colors, made in France, with noble and traceable materials, in a fair, ecological, social and human commitment.

They are passionate knitters and inspired knitters, upholsterers and weavers from Aubusson or elsewhere, weavers, craftsmen, haute-couture designers and makers, knit manufacturers; many breeders also entrust us with the transformation of their raw wool into neat yarn.

The project and the commitments

The Filature project finds its meaning thanks to the values ​​that mobilize us.

Ecology, human relations and confidence in the future.

We are fortunate to practice a profession at the crossroads of the agricultural world, the industrial world, and local trade. These three worlds are experiencing massive and unprecedented upheavals. Alongside each of them, hard hit like them, we face with them their new challenges, experience their difficulties, and support their changes.

Give more meaning and depth to our work together, to our relationships, whether internal, or with our customers, suppliers and partners, to manufacture our yarns while respecting our environment and with concern for what we bequeath to future generations, are concerns that shape the Filature Fonty project. We strive to pursue an approach that is resolutely eco-sensitive, eco-responsible and geared towards sustainable development.

Natural materials, recovery and production of renewable energies, short loops, reduction of inputs, elimination of pollutants, ecological water treatment, selective sorting, waste recovery, fair trade, associative and social commitment, benevolence in relations, are at the heart of the Fonty project.

SEE SPINNING

An open spinning mill

Privileged witness to the special place of wool and textiles in the history of Creuse, the Filature Fonty is one of the treasures of the local and French textile industrial heritage.

The whole team of the Filature Fonty is mobilized to welcome the public, explain our traditional profession and our ancestral gestures, to discover the extraordinary achievement that constitutes a wool yarn and the manufacturing stages through which it has passed. Because the transmission of these techniques to future generations requires making these traditions and know-how known, and giving an explanation and a meaning to what is unfortunately for much more “just a piece of woolen thread”.

Welcome, listening, explanation, exchanges, projects: by taking advantage of the factory shop, guided tours, Open House operations, come see us and discover one of the last active French wool spinning and dyeing mills, its team, its gestures, its machines, its products and its projects.

Learn more

Comparator
[wpdreams_ajaxsearchlite]

La filature

Une Entreprise du Patrimoine Vivant

Fonty, « la Filature de Rougnat » est une des dernières manufactures de filature et de teinture de laine encore en activité en France.

Le Label EPV, decerné par le Ministre de l’Economie, distingue les entreprises porteuses d’un savoir faire d’excellence, reconnu rare et précieux.

Créée en 1880 sur les rives du Cher, à quelques kilomètres de ses sources au cœur des Combrailles en Creuse, terre traditionnelle d’élevage et d’industrie textile, la Filature Fonty constitue un des trésors du patrimoine local.

Labellisée Entreprise du Patrimoine Vivant (EPV) en 2017, cette manufacture plus que centenaire perpétue un savoir-faire d’exception, transmis de génération en génération.

Il est constitué de procédés originaux, de compétences pointues, d’expérience cumulée, de gestes affinés au fil des années, associés à un parc de machines traditionnelles que l’équipe entretient, rénove et complète progressivement et qui témoignent de la place historique de la filière textile régionale.

La Filature Fonty est membre actif de l’association Lainamac, qui se fixe pour objectif de promouvoir et développer la filière laine du Massif Central.

Les matières naturelles

Des fils de qualité, constitués de matières nobles, d’origine naturelle

Le matériau de base des fils Fonty est la fibre naturelle.

La Filature Fonty élabore des fils de grande qualité à partir de toisons animales et de fibres végétales d’origine naturelle : mouton (dont principalement la race mérinos), alpaga péruvien et bolivien, yack de Mongolie, chameau du désert de Gobi, chèvre mohair, lapin angora de France, soie indienne, cachemire, lin de Normandie, coton asiatique, bambou du Portugal…

Les matières premières sont soigneusement sélectionnées. Les toisons proviennent d’élevages locaux ou régionaux, mais plus généralement de France, d’Europe, d’Asie Centrale, ou des pays lainiers de l’hémisphère Sud. Comme les fibres végétales, les toisons animales sont choisies pour leur finesse, leur longueur et leur douceur, mais également en tenant compte de leur traçabilité et des enjeux environnementaux liés à leur production ou leur transport.

Ces matières sont transformées en Creuse, dans les différents ateliers de la Filature, en fil cardé ou peigné, en mèche ou ruban, en respectant les procédés traditionnels de filature de laine.

Les qualités de la laine naturelle sont nombreuses. L’association Lainamac, avec d’autres partenaires engagés, a réalisé cette brochure qui fait le point sur ce produit naturel.

L’art des couleurs

De l’oeil à la teinture

L’équipe Fonty entretient depuis des décennies un savoir-faire exceptionnel de teinture de fils.

Grâce à son atelier de teinture performant, la Filature Fonty est capable de reproduire ou de créer n’importe quelle couleur pour ses fils : écrus ou coloris d’origine des toisons, teintures avec pigments naturels ou de synthèse, tons mats ou brillants, vifs ou passés, unis ou chinés…

Au fils des années, les teinturiers ont constitué une colorithèque de plusieurs centaines de milliers de nuances, notant les dosages des pigments, les mordants ou modificateurs utilisés, les formules et les procédés associés. C’est un travail sans fin car chaque matière réagissant différemment à la teinture, les possibilités sont infinies.

C’est aussi un travail de haute précision, très exigeant, car il s’agit d’obtenir pour chaque bain le ton exact. Ce travail de recherche est toujours réalisé en portant une attention particulière au respect de l’environnement.

Les procédés traditionnels

De la fibre au fil : toute une science

Le parc exceptionnel de machines textiles de la filature Fonty date des années 1950 à 1980. Il témoigne du passé et du patrimoine industriel exceptionnel qui furent celui de la région au milieu du XXème siècle.

Les fibres brutes qui constituent la matière première sont lavées, triées, battues, mélangées, encimées (graissées), préparées, pré-peignées.

Puis elles sont cardées sur nos deux lignes de carde à double assortiment.

En sortie de carde, elles sont filées, retordues, assemblées, dévidées et mises en écheveaux.

Les écheveaux de fils sont lavés, dégraissés, teints, adoucis, rincés, séchés et vaporisés.

Enfin ils sont pesés et préparés en cônes, écheveaux, bobines ou pelotes, puis étiquetés, conditionnés en sachets, et stockés, avant d’être expédiés à nos clients.

Les clients de la Filature

Un fil Français, traçable, de qualité

Depuis plus de 130 ans, Fonty fabrique pour ses clients des fils de laine de qualité grâce à un son savoir-faire transmis de génération en génération.

L’activité de la filature s’appuie sur quatre piliers complémentaires :

    1.  
      1. les fils de la collection Fonty, intemporels et classiques, dont la gamme et les couleurs évoluent légèrement chaque année, pour mieux répondre aux attente des tricoteuses du monde entier.
      2. les fils que nous filons et teignons « à façon » pour nos clients industriels de la maille, tisserands, négociants ou marques de laine, avec les caractéristiques que ceux-ci nous soumettent (matière, épaisseur, torsion, élasticité, coloris, etc..).
      3. les fils spécifiques que nous fabriquons pour les artisans de la tapisserie, du tissage, de la passementerie, de la broderie, du tapis haut-de-gamme.
      4. la transformation pour les éleveurs, de leur récolte de laine en fil teint pour qu’ils puissent le vendre « à la ferme ».

       

 

Nos clients apprécient les laines de qualité, associées à des couleurs originales, fabriquées en France, avec des matières nobles et traçables, dans un cadre écologique, social et humain responsable.

Ils et elles sont tricoteurs passionnés et tricoteuses inspirées, tapissiers et lissiers d’Aubusson ou d’ailleurs, tisserands, artisans, créateurs et façonniers de la haute couture, industriels de la maille ; de nombreux éleveurs nous confient également la transformation de leur laine brute en fil soigné.

Le projet et les engagements

Le projet de la Filature trouve son sens grâce aux valeurs qui nous mobilisent.

L’écologie, les relations humaines et la confiance dans l’avenir.

Nous avons la chance d’exercer un métier au carrefour du monde agricole, du monde industriel, et du commerce de proximité. Ces trois mondes vivent des bouleversements massifs et sans précédents. Aux côtés de chacun d’entre eux, durement touchés comme eux, nous faisons face avec eux à leurs nouveaux enjeux, vivons leurs difficultés, et accompagnons leurs mutations.

Donner plus du sens et de profondeur à notre travail en commun, à nos relations, qu’elles soient internes, ou avec nos clients, fournisseurs et nos partenaires, fabriquer nos fils en respectant notre environnement et dans le souci de ce que nous léguons aux générations futures, sont des préoccupations qui façonnent le projet de la Filature Fonty. Nous nous efforçons de poursuivre une démarche résolument éco-sensible, éco-responsable et tournée vers le développement durable.

Matières naturelles, récupération et production d’énergies renouvelables, boucles courtes, réduction des intrants, suppression des polluants, traitement des eaux écologique, tri sélectif, récupération des déchets, commerce équitable, engagement associatif et social, bienveillance dans les relations, sont au cœur du projet de Fonty.

VOIR LA FILATURE

Une filature ouverte

Témoin privilégié de la place particulière de la laine et du textile dans l’histoire de la Creuse, la Filature Fonty fait partie des trésors du patrimoine industriel textile local et Français.

Toute l’équipe de la Filature Fonty se mobilise pour accueillir le public, expliquer notre métier traditionnel et nos gestes ancestraux, faire découvrir l’extraordinaire réalisation que constitue un fil de laine et les étapes de fabrication par lesquelles il est passé. Car la transmission de ces techniques aux générations futures nécessite de faire connaitre ces traditions et ces savoir-faire, et donner une explication et un sens à ce qui n’est malheureusement pour beaucoup plus « qu’un simple bout de fil de laine ».

Accueil, écoute, explication, échanges, projets : en profitant du magasin d’usine, des visites guidées, des opérations Portes Ouvertes, venez nous voir et découvrir une des dernières filatures et teinture de laine française en activité, son équipe, ses gestes, ses machines, ses produits et ses projets.

En savoir plus

 

 

Comparateur
[wpdreams_ajaxsearchlite]